Wax Donut Records’ New Wave Donut Out This Friday

New Wave Donut
Spread the love

Sticker Mule - Get $10 to spend on custom stickers, magnets, buttons & more.

This Friday, 3/1, Wax Donut Records will release its latest tribute album, New Wave Donut – contemporary noise rock and punk acts covering songs from pioneers of the new wave movement. With the album’s release just days away, Decibel Magazine is currently hosting an exclusive stream of the entire album.

Owing to the label’s tagline, “For the odd, the noisy, the heavy,” the compilation features eight pummeling versions of classic songs from the late-‘70s to mid-‘80s, uniting a diverse array of punk and metal bands from across the United States. New Wave Donut features two bands with a longstanding relationship to the label – Night Goat and Bovine Nightmares – as well as several fresh faces from the annals of Bandcamp including Naw, Wipes, Science Man, The Kronk Men, Basement Family, and Glose.

The collected tracks were mastered by Steve Glaze at Tonefreq, and the cover art for V/A: New Wave Donut was created by Chris Bentley (Night Goat).

Wax Donut Records’ Morey Straus reveals, “Anyone who knows me well will tell you that I’m a total nut for the new wave and post-punk music of the late-‘70s to mid-‘80s. So, when I was ready to organize a new tribute comp, the idea was quickly cemented in my mind. I did what I’ve done with past tribute projects; I reached out to some of my favorite active bands in the heavy-ish music sphere to see who might have time and interest. I filled all the slots for this one quickly.”

He continues, “The bands had almost total freedom of song choices. My only criteria for acceptance were that they considered their choice to be part of the original new wave era (in the broadest sense of the label), and that I’d only take one song from any given artist. I really enjoyed watching the song selections come in for this. While only a couple of my favorites made it into the list, I knew I would not be disappointed. And my gut was right. The heavy lens applied by these bands has given me a new appreciation for all of these tracks. I hope you enjoy these re-imagined versions as much as I do. This comp is dedicated to all of the amazing artists who created the first new wave / post-punk era, and to all of the great underground artists producing music today.”

V/A New Wave Donut Track Listing:

1. Naw – Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark “Electricity”
2. Wipes – Tubeway Army “Are Friends Electric?”
3. Science Man – Suburban Lawns “Gossip”
4. The Kronk Men – Theatre Of Sheep – “Pyramids Babylon”
5. Basement Family – Ministry “Work For Love”
6. Bovine Nightmares – Eurythmics “Here Comes The Rain Again”
7. Night Goat – Siouxsie And The Banshees “Bring Me The Head Of The Preacher Man”
8. Glose – Tears For Fears “Everybody Wants To Rule The World”

New Wave Donut is available for pre-order on vinyl and digital here.

Label: Wax Donut Records
Links: Bandcamp | X | Instagram

Find us on Instagram and X.

If you are enjoying our content, you can support My Vinyl Offering's coffee fund by clicking here.

Spread the love